cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mrsjsw3
Beginner
Message 1 of 9

BT Infinity installation

Can anyone direct me to how to get help getting an dodgy physical BT Infinity installation fixed??  Engineer came this morning - said I had nothing to sign when asked and that he did not know how my computer worked so had not switched it on and shot off.  Only when he had gone did I discover that the openreach socket was not fixed properly to the wall (it's in the right place but not solidly attached to the wall when prodded) and he had left no fixings for us to mount the router on the wall.  We've tried ringing the helpline to get it fixed, but they are pointing the finger at me for for not checking 'properly' before the engineer left.  They are considering our case.  (1) isn't BT responsible for doing a reasonable installation and (2) how I am supposed to check a job when I am not an engineer and I don't have a checklist??  I'm also not in the habit of crawling round the floor on my hands and knees with an engineer or detaining a man hell bent on leaving my house.  Perhaps naively I expected BT would do a decent job.   I would also expect an apology for dodgy workmanship rather than a tirade against me for not acting as a technical supervisor. 

0 Ratings
8 REPLIES 8
SteveBB
Aspiring Expert
Message 2 of 9

Re: BT Infinity installation

It's pretty laughable that they expected you to check his work, like you're a teacher and he's a pupil, the last time I checked most of us aren't BT engineers.

My install is scheduled for t-minus 10 hours, wish me luck...
0 Ratings
mrsjsw3
Beginner
Message 3 of 9