Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
bwfc122
Beginner
Message 1 of 13

Broadband Service Activation Query

Hi there,

Today is finally the day my new fibre broadband is being activated, I have put up with a crappy 1mb-3mb connection for two years and today is the day the upgrade is happening.

The engineer completed what he needed to do at the new cabinet and exchange this morning, I received text messages to confirm he has finished.

I have already installed my new smart hub router ( I am an IT Tech so I have followed the procedure correctly) and I got an email from BT an hour after the engineer had completed his work saying that your new broadband service is ready to use.

Unfortunately its not and I have a Flashing Purple light on my router which indicates router is good, but no broadband.

Any ideas? Could there be a fault?

Kind Regards,

Jack 

0 Ratings
12 REPLIES 12
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 13

Re: Broadband Service Activation Query

While in most cases the broadband should work when BT email you it can however take up to midnight to activate in some instances.

Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 3 of 13

Is your phone line working, can you get dial tone, and is it the right number?

Its not unknown for there to be issues with the local pair records, resulting in a crossed or disconnected pair.

0 Ratings
bwfc122
Beginner
Message 4 of 13

Thanks for you reply.

We dont have a landline connected and I do not have one to test it with unfortunately. 

Kind Regards,

Jack

0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 5 of 13

That is a pity, because without a working phone line the broadband will not work.

Having a cheap wired phone (£5) is a very useful tool to diagnose any faults, especially a noisy or disconnected line.

You do not need to leave it plugged in all of the time, but just keep it for fault finding, as it could save you an £85 visit charge if the problem is within your own house.