Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
davidfm
Beginner
Message 1 of 7

Connection problems with ASUS DSL-N66U

Hi all,

I've been having some problems lately when using my ASUS Modem/Router instead of the BT Home Hub 5. Before I continue, let me say I've been using this router for a couple of months with no problems until now.

I have Infinity 2 with the 78Mb download speed. My sync speed was always that, no problem at all However, I noticed my connection was slower than usual and checked the router. The sync speed went to to ~50Mb (for the download side) and the upload sync speed is still the same ~20Mb.

Also, I noticed something strange, which I hope you can help me with:

1) My ISP when using both the ASUS and the Home Hub 5 was always BT.

2) Now, suddenly, when I connect using the ASUS the ISP BT Public Internet Service

3) I tried connecting the Home Hub again and the ISP is back to being BT

I tried options 2 and 3 several times today with the same result.

I haven't changed anything at all on the ASUS router and, as I said before, it was working fine.

Do you have any advice?

Thank you very much!

0 Ratings
6 REPLIES 6
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 7

Re: Connection problems with ASUS DSL-N66U

If you've been changing routers numerous times it may have caused DLM to band your line as it will think you have a dropping connection issue.
If you want to say thanks for a helpful answer,please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side If the the reply answers your question then please mark as ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
0 Ratings
davidfm
Beginner
Message 3 of 7

Thanks Webby, that might've happened as well. But what about the "different" ISP? That, and my speed problems started before I started changing the routers today.
0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Message 4 of 7

Where are you seeing this? On a speedtest website?

I don't think it makes any difference, it certainly wouldn't have any affect on your sync rates.