cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
japage33
Beginner
465 Views
Message 1 of 8

DLM reset needed?

Go to solution

Hi,

I had a problem with my Broadband earlier in the year where the Downstream SNR would slowly decrease over a few days to the point of causing the line to drop and retrain.  This was resolved at the beginning of April 2021 by replacing the modem and removing the Ethernet over Powerline adapter that sat next to it.  The connection has been rock solid ever since.

Following a couple of power outages over the last month, the maximum achievable Downstream and Upstream line speed has increased, but the connection has remained fixed at 32,400kbps Downstream and 7,200kbps Upstream.

This looks like the line has been banded.  How do I request a DLM reset to remove the banding?  Line stats and results from the BT wholesale broadband checker below.

Line stats

Stats summary

Stats recorded 07 Jul 2021 16:56:10

DSLAM type / SW version:	BDCM:0xa49a (164.154) / v0xa49a
Modem/router firmware:  	AnnexA version - A2pv6C038m.d24j
DSL mode:               	VDSL2 Profile 17a
Status:                 	Showtime
Uptime:                 	14 days 21 hours 59 min 37 sec
Resyncs:                	2 (since 14 May 2021 17:25:49)
			
				Downstream	Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):  	22.7		0.0
Signal attenuation (dB):	Not available on VDSL2		
Connection speed (kbps):	32400		7200
SNR margin (dB):        	7.8		7.2
Power (dBm):            	12.4		4.8
Interleave depth:       	16		1
INP:                    	47.00		0
G.INP:                  	Enabled		Not enabled
Vectoring status:       	5 (VECT_UNCONFIGURED)		

RSCorr/RS (%):          	0.0202		32.6493
RSUnCorr/RS (%):        	0.0000		0.0000
ES/hour:                	0		2.01

Connection stats

xdslcmd info --stats
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason:	0
Last initialization procedure status:	0
Max:	Upstream rate = 8557 Kbps, Downstream rate = 41160 Kbps
Bearer:	0, Upstream rate = 7200 Kbps, Downstream rate = 32400 Kbps
Bearer:	1, Upstream rate = 0 Kbps, Downstream rate = 0 Kbps
Link Power State:	L0
Mode:			VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile:		Profile 17a
TPS-TC:			PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis:		U:ON /D:ON
Line Status:		No Defect
Training Status:	Showtime
		Down		Up
SNR (dB):	 7.8		 7.2
Attn(dB):	 22.7		 0.0
Pwr(dBm):	 12.4		 4.8

 

BT wholesale broadband checker

Broadband check 1.png

 

0 Ratings
Reply
7 REPLIES 7
imjolly
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
455 Views
Message 2 of 8

Re: DLM reset needed?

Go to solution

Certain!y looks like you are in a banded profile due to connection problems. It looks like you have been on 32.4mb since aprilaccording to dslchecker and currently have 14 days stable connection.

I have asked mods to have a look and see if they can help you.  They will post here

 



If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings 'Thumbs up' on left hand side.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
0 Ratings
Reply
JohnC2
Moderator
Moderator
450 Views
Message 3 of 8

Re: DLM reset needed?

Go to solution

Hi @japage33, welcome to the forum and thanks for posting. Sorry that your profile looks like it has been banded. I've sent you a Private Message so you can get in touch with the team and we'll be happy to get this fixed for you.

cheers

John

0 Ratings
Reply
JohnC2
Moderator
Moderator
375 Views
Message 4 of 8

Re: DLM reset needed?

Go to solution

Hi @japage33, has the banding lifted and your connection improved?

Cheers

John

0 Ratings
Reply
japage33
Beginner
332 Views
Message 5 of 8

Re: DLM reset needed?

Go to solution

Hi John, 

Yes, the DLM reset has worked and the banding has been lifted. Thanks for your help. 

0 Ratings
Reply
NeilO
Moderator
Moderator
312 Views
Message 6 of 8

Re: DLM reset needed?

Go to solution

Hi @japage33 That's great, I'll let @JohnC2 know it's sorted. 

Neil

0 Ratings
Reply
japage33
Beginner
198 Views
Message 7 of 8

Re: DLM reset needed?

Go to solution

Hi,

Nearly 3 weeks on from the DLM reset and the line speed is much better.  Downstream is now 42,546kbps (a 31% improvement with a 3.4dB SNR) and upstream is now 8,547kbps (a 19% improvement with a 5.6dB SNR).  The full stats are below.

Should I expect G.INP to become Enabled and the target SNR to drop over time on the upstream to further improve the upstream speed?

Thanks for your help!

--

Stats summary

Stats recorded 28 Jul 2021 19:13:59

DSLAM type / SW version:	BDCM:0xa49a (164.154) / v0xa49a
Modem/router firmware:  	AnnexA version - A2pv6C038m.d24j
DSL mode:               	VDSL2 Profile 17a
Status:                 	Showtime
Uptime:                 	4 days 17 hours 10 min 28 sec
Resyncs:                	7 (since 08 Jul 2021 12:31:27)
			
				Downstream	Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):  	22.8		0.0
Signal attenuation (dB):	Not available on VDSL2		
Connection speed (kbps):	42546		8547
SNR margin (dB):        	3.5		5.4
Power (dBm):            	12.6		4.7
Interleave depth:       	4		1
INP:                    	52.00		0
G.INP:                  	Enabled		Not enabled
Vectoring status:       	5 (VECT_UNCONFIGURED)		

RSCorr/RS (%):          	0.1933		2.0758
RSUnCorr/RS (%):        	0.0000		0.0000
ES/hour:                	0.21		5.56

 

Connection stats

xdslcmd info --stats
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason:	1
Last initialization procedure status:	0
Max:	Upstream rate = 8547 Kbps, Downstream rate = 42172 Kbps
Bearer:	0, Upstream rate = 8547 Kbps, Downstream rate = 42546 Kbps
Bearer:	1, Upstream rate = 0 Kbps, Downstream rate = 0 Kbps
Link Power State:	L0
Mode:			VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile:		Profile 17a
TPS-TC:			PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis:		U:ON /D:ON
Line Status:		No Defect
Training Status:	Showtime
		Down		Up
SNR (dB):	 3.4		 5.4
Attn(dB):	 22.8		 0.0
Pwr(dBm):	 12.6		 4.7

 

0 Ratings
Reply
licquorice
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
196 Views
Message 8 of 8

Re: DLM reset needed?

Go to solution

@japage33 wrote:

 

Should I expect G.INP to become Enabled and the target SNR to drop over time on the upstream to further improve the upstream speed?

Unfortunately not, G.Inp and 3db target SNRM aren't applied to the upstream.

0 Ratings
Reply