cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Mattwalkery
Beginner
Message 1 of 33

Disconnects frequently throughout the day on TD-W9980 Router. Not sure if Router or Line.

Hi, I'm a novice when it comes to networking and was wondering if someone could help me out here? I keep having disconnects throughout the day, and I have no idea what causes it. This has not happened before and is now happening on a frequent basis. I'm not sure if it is likely to be the router, or the line as I do not know what the error codes mean.

So, the info:
The model is a TP-LINK TD-W9980.

We are on BT Infinity 2

all the errors seem related to ppp0, ppp0 user request, ppp0 LCP down, and ppp0 timeout waiting for PADO packets.  

I will add the errors in a log file. This is just a snippet, but it seems to happen at random times throughout the day and night.

errors.png

I realise more info will likely be needed, so please do tell me and I'll make sure to get it as I would really like to get to the bottom of this problem. Thank you for reading.

Tags (3)
0 Ratings
32 REPLIES 32
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 33

Re: Disconnects frequently throughout the day on TD-W9980 Router. Not sure if Router or Line.

Can you try using the test socket with a filter to see if that helps stability. When connected to test socket check your extension socket as they should not have a dial tone - whether in use or not

try quiet line test. Dial 17070 option 2 should be quiet and best with corded phone

can you post more stats from router showin connection speed noise margin etc

If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings 'Thumbs up' on left hand side.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
0 Ratings
Mattwalkery
Beginner
Message 3 of 33

Re: Disconnects frequently throughout the day on TD-W9980 Router. Not sure if Router or Line.