cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Message 1 of 11

Do I need a Master Phone Socket?

I've been using Sky broadband for 2 years and got a good speed. I recently signed up for BT Infinity and go-live was the 18th; I've not had internet since then.

The help desk has been unable to figure out what was wrong and I've had an engineer out who has said that I can't get fibre without a master socket and he didn't think I had one. He didn't however open any of the sockets; just had a look at the outside of them.

I've done a fair bit of reading and pulled apart all the sockets in my rental apartment and believe they're all extensions. There's also no junction box visible anywhere in the building. I've attached pictures; can you confirm these are extensions?

Secondly, do you actually need a master socket to get fibre? If so why? I can live with a bit slower internet... it's better than the nothing I have now!

Cheers,

Warren

phone sockets 3.jpg

0 Ratings
10 REPLIES 10
Highlighted
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 11

Re: Do I need a Master Phone Socket?

Welcome to this customer to customer forum. @toomanywarrens

Is your phone line now with BT Retail? Dial 150 and see what it says.

Was your Sky broadband just normal broadband, or Sky fibre?

If it worked before, then all you need to do is to plug the home hub into the same microfilter that you used for Sky, and it should just work.

The extension wiring is likely to cause a reduction in speed, but it should still connect.

0 Ratings
Highlighted
Message 3 of 11

My phone line is now with BT as well and when I call 150, I get the BT help desk...

My Sky broadband was normal (not fibre). I've got the microfilter plugged into the same socket.

W

0 Ratings
Highlighted
Expert
Message 4 of 11