cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
oro
Beginner
Message 1 of 8

FTTP - Self build advice - ducting / ont postion / voice calling

Hi guys i'm a self builder (foundations going in soon) who has just found out that FTTP is being rolled out on my road.

I've done quite a bit of research (openreach developers guide and factsheets etc) to try ensure that I get things right but would be great to get some feedback from some experts to ensure I have understood everything correctly and then I just have a few queries also.

First I've been informed by Openreach that my property have been provisioned for at the Splitter (Main feed Node)

So i'm getting my groundworkers to lay ducting for fibre optical cable from the edge of the plot up to the house, this will lead to a duct in the floor slab at 45 degree angle coming out in the floor of the tech room (with draw rope) , the tech room will have two power sockets for the ONT and from the tech room I will run a single cat6 network cable to my living room where I will then plug said cat6 into my wifi router which will then provide wifi for house and allow me to plug playstation / tv directly into router. As I understand it openreach would come and pull their optical cable through the ducts into the house , install the ONT, i'd plug that into my cat6 and all should work correctly?!

-Does the above all seem correct and sensible?

-i've read a little about CSP's but don't fully understand them do i need one of these?

- Does having a cat6 cable from the ONT running into another room before going into the router (vs plugging the ONT straight into the router) add any kind of lag affect on ping for online gaming?

-As I understand it FTTP allows for voice calls so does that mean I dont need a standard phone line? Do i need to install some form of phone socket in the tech room if i wanted to plug my phone in the living room or does the 'voice part' also get carried along the cat6 cable?