cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mattarth
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 19

Fixed wireless bridge to village with fibre

I'm new to this forum, but I'm hoping someone may know something about this. If so, please suggest anything.

I live it a pretty definite not-spot for broadband in a rural area. However the neighbouring village, 1.5 miles away, has BT FTTC. I'm an engineer, and I believe I can install a fixed wireless network between me and the village (this may rely on a friendly host for the antenna, but it should be doable).

My questions is: is it possible to somehow connect into the BT fibre network directly, without having a house, and hence phone line, in the village? My research has so far led me to believe I would need to set up my own ISP to buy wholesale broadband and sell it back to myself, but I think that's probably overkill!

Thanks in advance for any ideas.

Matt

0 Ratings
18 REPLIES 18
mattarth
Aspiring Contributor
Message 2 of 19

Re: Fixed wireless bridge to village with fibre

*bump.

Anyone?

0 Ratings
astar27
Expert
Message 3 of 19

This should be in theory possible, but hence forth it will probably be a bit unreliable like Satelite based services.

You're going to need a bit of spare dosh to do this. But have you considered asking someone in the village to allow you to have an additional line in your name in their house, this would solve the getting connected to the FTTC network. And I would certainly go with a Business grade ISP, just because you'll likely get better contention and help should the service go funk.

This way you would then effectively have your own service, and you would be in control of it, and install all your antennae's and stuff. To be honest this sounds a very ambitious plan, but I hope you do well with it!
mattarth
Aspiring Contributor
Message 4 of 19

Thanks astar27!