cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 10

Help with Broadband speeds FTTC

Hi there,

I have been using the BT FTTC service for 2 years and have had the download speeds of about 24 to 25Mb for 21 months, (Upload speed has always been about 1.5Mb) the service has been very stable and reliable. Things changed however in September, I noticed slower speeds and that the sync speed on the HH6 had dropped to about 17MB from about 27Mbs. I started to monitor the download speed and this reduced further to about 14/15mb. I left things as they were, hoping that DLM would eventually improve my speeds back up to approx 25Mbs, that didn't happen and so in early October I reported a fault to BT.

The BT wholesale Broadband test and the Router test were  reporting no faults with a speed of about 15Mbs. The line tested OK with no noise on the silent line test. There were no line disconnections and the router showed the network had been connected for 12 days. The BT fault report centre refreshed the Line/router (whatever that means ( I did notice that the Network Id changed from Broadcom 8 back to BTHub6-xxxx). They could not give any sensible explanation why the speed had dropped from a reliable 25Mbs for the first 21 months of service to a very poor 15MBs ( I used to get 11/12Mb with ADSL)

I again decided to see if  DLM would get things back up to something like normal. I was wrong. This week I noticed that the D/L speed has reduced further to 13.1Mbs with the D/L sync speed at 16Mb. I believe that there is a problem somewhere but I can't convince BT to investigate further.

I am wondering if my speeds have fallen below the guarantee threshold see below - The handback speed is 18Mbs.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Broadband Data sheet.jpgBTHub Details.jpg

0 Ratings
9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10

Re: Help with Broadband speeds FTTC