cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Kern
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 7

Home Hub 3. Constant connectivity loss. Event log full of BLOCKED reports.

Trying to get any kind of service out of my BT Infinity provision nowadays is like trying to arrange a tsunami in a desert.

Time after time after time after time, the Internet is working normally but then a page refuses to refresh and attempts to open another website result only in 'page not found' even though the Internet-connection  icon is glowing steadily in the tray, and when I ask Windows to check on things, it reports that no problems have been found and the connection is working normally.

Except, of course, it isn't.  I am not a technical expert and therefore haven't much of a clue where to start with this. My Vista OS runs with Panda Cloud AV and Malwarebytes PRO and Windows Firewall, all three of which have always played nicely. Prior to switching to BT Infinity, I had 'ordinary' BT broadband via a Netgear wireless router. The service was trouble-free.

This morning, I decided to delve into BT Home Hub Manager to re-set to factory default. That in itself took some doing because clicking on the  Firefox bookmark got me nowhere at all: I had to sit here and wait for 10 minutes before the Hub page suddenly appeared as if out of nowhere.

I found in the event logs a seemingly unending chain of firewall related reports. Rather than read 'em all, I just hit re-set and whoa-hey, after a 5 or 6 minute wait, everything was fine and dandy again. . .

Until, 20 minutes later, it wasn't. Despite the re-set, Internet connectivity was shot to pieces. I'm on Amazon UK and click to open a new page in a new tab: Page Not Found. On the BBC News website, click on a link to open in a new tab: Page Not Found. Reload any of those exisdting, open pages and the reload circle just spins and spins until. . . Page Not Found.