cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
tanGee
Beginner
Message 1 of 6

Horribly unreliable connection, BT support useless. What can I do?

I have been fighting this battle since I moved house 14 months ago to a semi-rural area. I have FTTC broadband, and can get a speed of around 14/1 on a good day. If this were consistent I would have no issue.

However I frequently experience long periods where the speeds drop significantly, often as low as 1-2mbps download, with initial connection delays to services, etc as well. The reason for this is that I am connected to a cabinet 1.3 miles away, and it would appear the long line is susceptible to faults. The really frustrating thing about this is that there is a cabinet less than 300m along a straight road that I can see from my driveway.

I have enquired several times about the possibility of getting my connection moved to this cabinet, offering to absorb the cost if it isn't ridiculous, and have even tried to get my local MP involved. I work from home, and have frequent business calls using Skype and other online services, which are impacted severely when the issues occur.

I have had maybe 4 engineer visits over the past year, and each time they have found a fault on the line and fixed it, but this is only a temporary measure. I have raised several complaints and have been contacted by first line support staff who don't seem to understand that the issue is intermittent, and they seem to dismiss it with "we can't see any issue on your line, we'll close the complaint".