Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ir0n_jaw
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 18

[Infinity 1] Terrible speed from midday to midnight #2

Go to solution

I'm another person who came across this after browsing the net trying to see if anyone else had the same issue. I'm in Maidstone (also Kent) and have exactly the same issue. I'm syncing at around 55/10 mbps but in the evenings I get around 13mbps tops, but it goes up and down.

I work in IT myself and my connection was rock solid until 4 days ago. Troubleshooting includes:

• An isolation test
  • A spare VDSL router
  • Connected to the test socket
  • Change of various cables (just in case lol)

Nothing has made any difference. My next thought was contention also, however - contention has NEVER been an issue before with my previous BT Infinity connection. I was with BT before a 1 year hiatus when I left to join Sky and only recently moved back.

Keep plugging away and hopefully we can all get this properly looked at.

Regards

D

0 Ratings
17 REPLIES 17
Message 2 of 18

Re: [Infinity 1] Terrible speed from midday to midnight #2

Go to solution

Hi @ir0n_jaw and welcome.

I'm sorry you're having problems with the connection. I'm sure we can help with this. can you confirm whcih exchange you're on? Can you try running the speed test, including the further diagnostics when you see the connection slowing and post the results?

Cheers

David

0 Ratings
ir0n_jaw
Aspiring Contributor
Message 3 of 18

Go to solution

Thank you so much David. I'm on the Wateringbury Exchange in Kent.

It's only slow in the evenings, in the morning its fine (~50mbps), then slows down and into the evening I'm well below 10mbps.

Right now (1.15pm) I'm tracking at 50.81 mbps down, 8.53 up and ping latency of 43.19.

Further diagnostics return:

Capture.JPG

Last night however, when testing with BT customer support I got (and forgive the screenshot I took with my phone!):

IMG_2284.JPG