Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
BruceWayne
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 37

[Infinity 1] Terrible speed from midday to midnight

Go to solution

Hello everyone,

I'm a french student in the uk, please forgive me for my poor english. 

I've recently subscribed to the BT Infinity 1 broadband, but I couldn't help but notice that the speed drops dramatically during the day.

The synchronization is ok, at 55mbps, stable.

But the real download speed goes from ~50mbps (on the bt speedtest) in the early morning to ~15/20 around midday and ~1/3mbps during the evening, which is really inconvenient...

Here are some speedtests :

At around 20pm :

At around 21pm, test number 3, having changed the broadband username by speedtest@speedtest_domain

I contacted the hotline, where I found some nice people who really wanted to help, it seems.

They told me to unscrew the wall socket, to plug myself on the test plug in order for them to complete their tests.

They even planned a visit from an engineer, but sadly, as I expected, he couldn't do anything since the synchronization was alright. 

It seems to me I have a problem with the "cabinet", and, from reading other messages here, that I would need to be changed over to a new equipment in the exchange by OpenReach, a "lift and shift".

What should I do now?

(Edit : My exchange appears to be "NDCAN", I'm in Canterbury. )

Thank you very much,

Best regards,

Nicolas

0 Ratings
36 REPLIES 36
Nujol
Contributor
Message 2 of 37

Re: [Infinity 1] Terrible speed from midday to midnight

Go to solution

Hi BruceWayne, well would you believe it I am also from Canterbury and looking in this thread due to the exact same problem!

Up until 3 weeks ago I was on Sky Broadband (not Fibre) and consistently had 12mbps downstream.

Now on BT Infinity 1, allegedly 52mbps but shockingly and regularly dropping to 1-3mbps e.g. right now (3pm on a Saturday).