Did you mean: 
Highlighted
macj2361
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 7

Installing Infinity via extension

Go to solution

Hi,

I currently have standard broadband (getting 3.5-4mb) but am looking to upgrade to Infinity.

The issue I have is that my broadband is currently connected via an extension lead. This is because my master socket is in our dining room, not close to any power sockets. Connecting any lead to the master socket isn't practical as it is also next to an open archway.

My question is can I install Infinity on the existing extension (which comes from an extension socket in a bedroom, down an outside wall then back into the living room!).

If I cannot use the existing extension, is it possible to move the master socket into the living room? How would I go about arranging this and how much would it cost?

Hope this makes sense - I have no technical knowledge on the subject!

Thanks.

0 Ratings
6 REPLIES 6
dnpark38
Aspiring Expert
Message 2 of 7

Re: Installing Infinity via extension

Go to solution

Instruct is always plug routers/hubs into Master Socket, so that must be best practice.

I do know if extending best to use good quaulity leads with twisted wires to be used and cheap flat cable to be avoided.

0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 3 of 7

Go to solution

@macj2361

Which image number below, matches your master socket?

Single master sockets

Filtered master sockets

0 Ratings
macj2361
Aspiring Contributor
Message 4 of 7

Go to solution

Its a single master socket - number 3

0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 5 of 7

Go to solution

@macj2361 wrote:

Its a single master socket - number 3

Thanks.

You need to bear in mind that your connection speed is easily degraded by poor wiring.

What I would do initially, is to unscrew the front of that master socket, and see if the extension is connected to the back of the removable section, as shown on this picture.

Extension wiring connection point