Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
basingsteve
Beginner
Message 1 of 8

Is my FTTC date real?

Hi,

I live in Basingstoke which has had Infinity enabled in the exchange for several years already, but sadly, whilst I live about 50 meters from an Infinity cabinet, the one I'm actually wired into (about half a mile away) is not yet FTTC enabled.

The date posted on the Openreach website for my "Cabinet 20" is currently 31-DEC-2014, but this has been pushed-out several times already - usually a couple of weeks before the published date and usually extended by 6 months at a time.

I'm a technology consultant by trade and I feel like I'm being held in the dark ages by BT.  I can't cope with 3Mbps broadband any longer so I'm considering ditching my broadband and phone line altogether and moving to a 4G service with a 50GB usage limit. 

Before I make the decision though, I would like to hear from BT as to whether the above date is real or yet another mirage that will disappear before my eyes once again?

Regards,

Steve

0 Ratings
7 REPLIES 7
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 8

Re: Is my FTTC date real?

Unfortunately the information you have is probably the best you will get. Openreach, who are responsible for upgrading the cabinets are not very good at giving out any information.

Have a look at their website

http://www.superfast-openreach.co.uk/faq/

0 Ratings
Distinguished Guru
Message 3 of 8

Only Openreach know the answer. You can ask them here: http://www.superfast-openreach.co.uk/faq/contact-us-form.aspx
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
If you found this post helpful, please click on the star on the left
If not, I'll try again 🙂
0 Ratings
Max117
Aspiring Contributor
Message 4 of 8

Out of interest, where are you getting cabinet level data from?

0 Ratings
Guru
Guru
Message 5 of 8

Hi Max117,