cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
glenhill68
Expert
Message 1 of 62

MK3 master socket wiring help

Hi. My broadband has dropped today and it seems I have a line fault. I have an MK3 dual master socket. Am I right in saying both the predominantly orange with white cables both go to 5 and the predominantly white with orange cables go to 2 with nothing else connected? Thanks
0 Ratings
61 REPLIES 61
glenhill68
Expert
Message 2 of 62

Re: MK3 master socket wiring help

I assume those wires are just for the extensions. I assume the bottom plate connected connects to the broad socket at the top
0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 3 of 62

Your question is totally meaningless. Colour of wires is totally irrelevant, the electrons don't care,we need to know where the cables go to/come from and what colours are connected at the other end. The incoming line terminates on the A&B connectors at the rear of the socket. Pins 2&5 on the removable faceplate are filtered connections to phone extensions.

0 Ratings
glenhill68
Expert
Message 4 of 62

Obviously I am not as versed as you are in BT wiring. What other end and what wires?
0 Ratings
glenhill68
Expert
Message 5 of 62

HH5 constantly flashing orange.

Hi. I rebooted my router this morning as I do every few weeks. On reboot it now doesn't connect and just flashes orange. I contacted live chat and they think there is a line fault that rebooting the router detected.
0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Message 6 of 62

Re: HH5 constantly flashing orange.

there is no need to restart your router it could also be a router fault
0 Ratings
glenhill68
Expert
Message 7 of 62

I have a spare hub and tried that but that does the same.
0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 8 of 62

The other end of the cable you are talking about, which go to extension sockets.