cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
welshden1
Message 1 of 7

New house setup

Go to solution

Hi all. Sorry, I'm a a newbie! Moving house shortly to home that has BT line in but not connected.  Am considering BT Infinity, and checked all fitted by engineer if ordered.  Problem is that present phone line is at front of house (ideal for answer machine) but PC will be upstairs at rear of house. My TV (smart - I will probably connect and use it) will be in lounge (about 30 ft from phone socket via outside access). Would like Hub to be near PC as most used and PC definitely to be connected, TV to be wired in rather than wireless (saves £80 on dongle) and answer machine near front door.  PC and telephone must be priority, TV desirable but at what cost?  Aware of 'homeplugs' for TV but also heard not as successful as one would wish.  Infinity speed quoted as 27 meg download.

a. Will engineer connect phone line at front of house and hub near PC upstairs at rear? If not where will he fit hub?

b. Any suggestion prior to engineer visit regarding TV wired in but remembering PC is a priority? Cost?

c. If a. is not possible any suggestions on how fitting will best meet my needs?Smiley Frustrated

Thank you for any replies.  Hope I can find my question again!

0 Ratings
6 REPLIES 6
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 7

Re: New house setup

Go to solution
The addition of another phone sockets depends on how much of a job it is for the engineer, but most of them are pretty accommodating.

Homeplugs are awesome! I have them and they give a throughput of about 50mbps (they connect at between 140 and 160mbps, so they're perfect for media streaming to my TV, along with HD iPlayer and Netflix 🙂
If you want to say thanks for a helpful answer,please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side If the the reply answers your question then please mark as ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
0 Ratings
welshden1
Message 3 of 7

Go to solution