cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 6

PacketLoss for 2 months. No fix?

Hello there, 

I have had significant packet loss on my BT internet for over 2 months now. I have had numerous engineers out who always say the line is "fine". They have done multiple checks such as replacing master sockets/wires/exchange ports. This is still an ongoing issue. I have flagged a complaint to BT but no one seems to care so I am very close to switching to Sky. I have attached a picture of "pingplotter" regarding my loss. I will also note that when this occurs my speed also drops way below what I am guaranteed "30mbps". 

Does anyone know of any solutions to this other than changing ISPS? . Online chat are very good however recently are just poor. My job is on the line as I am a design consultant working from home. I use "zoom" software for clients and therefore can't even hold a stable connection. This causes robotic voice over VoIP and a not so happy client. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated. (This also tends to happen in the evening 3pm onwards). 

- I have replaced all RJ45(ethernet) cables in the home.

- I have disconnected all WiFi 

- Factory Reset Router(Smart Hub 2)

- Split WiFi Channels 

- Swapped out DSL Cable. 

- Plugged DSL cable directly into Master Socket. 

- Clean install of OS. 

- Updated Sound drivers + GFX drivers. 

123.jpgwww.google.com.png

0 Ratings
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6

Re: PacketLoss for 2 months. No fix?

As of today 20/02/2021 this still isn't fixed and we're looking at new providers in our area incase anyone was wondering. 

0 Ratings
Message 3 of 6

Hi

Sorry you want to leave, but since you seem to have done pretty much everything at your end to clear this issue, can I assume reading between lines of your comments that this packet loss is happening only at certain times of the day ?

Are you able to do the ping plotter to the IP 8.8.8.8 ? and see what the results are ?