cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Beginner
Message 1 of 7

Re: BT home hub 5 wifi keeps dropping

I had the common problem of HH5 dropping in and out intermittently last October for weeks. One new HH5, new master socket, three BT engineer visits to tell me my home wiring was fine, the last engineer luckily arrived whilst it was playing up and said he identified a fault at the green box, which is quite close to my house. The problem then went away until two weeks ago when I got the same problem.  At times it can be unusable for two or more hours, dropping in and out every 2 to 5 minutes, and then it will work fine for hours.

The times aren't consistent, nor the days of week, sometimes unusable from 11 to 2, sometimes 3 to 5.

Does anyone have any idea why the problem should arise at different times and then disappear until the next day?

I'm not a techie, but is there any possibility this is affected by what other users in the vicinity are doing at a particular time? ie is it a load issue? 

I haven't raised this with BT as I dread all the **bleep** that will inevitably follow, resetting hubs, line tests that show everything is fine (which of course it will be if I'm actually communicating with BT at that point in time - what part of intermittent problem do you not understand?), replacement hub eventually, reluctant agreement to engineer visit, which is most likely to pick up nothing, and so on.

I'm very reluctant to pay out for a Smart hub to get a service that I am already paying a lot for and ot getting all the time.

Very tempted to just say get stuffed to BT and switch to PlusNet and see if their router actually works.

0 Ratings
6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Message 2 of 7

Hi @dhpaul

Thanks for your post and welcome back!

Sorry for the connection problems you're having with your broadband.  Have a look at this link for help diagnosing the issue: My broadband keeps having connection problems