cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
pod
Beginner
Message 1 of 8

Replacing homehub4

After a weekend with my new BT Infinity fibre optic broadband I am already fed up with the lack of range offered by my 5 day old HH4.  As it would appear that BT/Open Reach will now effectively wash their hands of this, I have decided I may as well bit the bullet and buy a router that works.

I have been recommended this

The Draytek Vigor 2760n ADSL or VDSL with WiFi 802.11n

My questions are

Anyone know if this is a good option?  I want to send the WiFi signal reliably round my house rather than intermittantly as I get now with HH4.

Will it work with the Open Reach master socket?  As it has a built in modem, so I would ned to disconnect the BT modem supplied.

Will it be easy to set up?  I am not very technically minded, so want an option that will be straightforward if at all possible.

Are there any other recommendations for a better router?  At this point I am open to suggestion and price, as long as it works well.

Many thanks in advance.

0 Ratings
7 REPLIES 7
paradox
Aspiring Expert
Message 2 of 8

Re: Replacing homehub4

Wireless wise the performance probably will not be much different as that i believe is only a 300Mbps wireless device also. It may give a performance boost but nothing amazingly so.

It destroys the HH4 in other regards/features but if its just improved wireless you want you are probably better off going for a 600Mbps dual band or better device. Or the cheaper and perhaps even better option if your home is dependant of wireless would be wireless range extenders or powerline adapters.

Of course if you have other issues with the HH4 then go ahead and replace it.

0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 3 of 8

this was a previous post with hh4 wifi problems  http://community.bt.com/t5/Other-BB-Queries/Poor-Wifi-range-with-new-install-home-hub-4/m-p/1011600/...