cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
GTFROME
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 10

Supefast Fibre 1 - Expected guaranteed download of 22Mbs, actual 14Mbs ? Cabinet is getting faster ?

I am no expert but I want to know if there is something I can do to get some more speed. The original quote I had was 22mbps so a lot better than Talk Talk 5.5 Mbps. Hence over to BT as they were increasing my speed x 4.

...we estimate your download speed will be between 27Mbps and 38Mbps, and your upload speed will be between 5.4Mbps and 7.7Mbps.  The minimum guaranteed speed you can expect from your broadband will be 22Mbps.

So we upgraded from copper but since the contract started 11 months ago we have never had anything better than a very stable 13-14Mbps on download and a again, a very consistent 5-6 on upload.

In January 2018 the checker said we were VDSL Range B Impacted - Downstream 14-27.4 with 11.3 Handback. So at the very bottom of the range. The latest checker now states an increased figure of 22.4 - 38.2 ( and now much closer to Range A  27.3 - 40 ) and a 16.5 Handback. I also now see 'observed speed' mentioned at 14.69 Mbps. So my question is about my lack of speed. Is it just that my line is in some way rubbish ? Or do the higher cabinet figures of today suggest that the connection was never that good and that BT have improved the transmission rates - so I really need to get them to open up the tap  to get more advantage.

Is it the case that if you were capped when you started then they would not do anything unless you complained ?

The BT tests always tell me that me that my speed is 'good' at 13-14 Mbps ?

When I  punch in my line as a new BT customer it still says today that I can expect 22Mbps so that adds to my confusion.

All tests are done on my wired pc directly into router, and as I say, the BT service has been incredibly stable so that in itself is a plus point.

Any guidance would be appreciated.

0 Ratings
9 REPLIES 9