cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 29

Ultrafast 900 FTTP - Real world experience - Only getting 1/3 of throughput BT say I'm getting

Go to solution

Hoping for a bit of help on this one from the MODS.

Background
I work in IT and have done for 28 years. Part of that time was spent being a network engineer so I "know my onions".  The speed tests I refer to below were from fast.com / speedtest.com / BT

I ordered Ultrafast 900 from BT and Openreach duly turned up to install the ONT and run the fibre. He plugged in the Smart Hub 2 and told me I was live and ready to go. I didn't check speeds as with it being Fibre I just expected it to work out of the box - This was a mistake.

I connected my laptop later on that day to test out the connection.  This as directly into the Smart Hub via a Gig Ethernet network card.  However, speeds were nowhere near the advertised rates. I was getting the following results

Ping 6ms
Download 300-350
Upload 50

I decided to discard the hub and plugged my laptop directly into the ONT, setup the connection and ran a series of speed tests.

Download 300-350
Upload 100-120

I then plugged the Smart Hub back in to see what results I had.

Download 300-350
Upload 50-52  - Not sure if this related to another thread I've just read about throttling being active on the Smart Hub 2.

I then ran the BT speedtest that you can access via the Smart Hub 2. According to that, I was getting
Download 972
Upload 51

I called BT to raise a fault and was told they would send an OpenReqch engineer round. He checked the light coming down the cable, said that it was excellent so no issues there. He switched out the ONT just in case that was faulty but it didn't make any difference. We also replaced the network cables we were using. He couldn't get anything faster than I had (directly connected to the ONT). There were also no faults on the ONT at the management end.