cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 21 of 29

Re: Ultrafast 900 FTTP - Real world experience - Only getting 1/3 of throughput BT say I'm getting

Go to solution

As per my previous post, have found running speedtest  inside a web browser has produced inconsistent  results for some bizarre reason. 

0 Ratings
Message 22 of 29

Re: Ultrafast 900 FTTP - Real world experience - Only getting 1/3 of throughput BT say I'm getting

Go to solution

@pippincpwrote:

@Carlusha  Did you miss this bit? "I work in IT and have done for 28 years. Part of that time was spent being a network engineer so I "know my onions".

Of course I did not miss any of the OP's post. I had 40 years IT experience but that doesn't mean I am an expert.

I'm retired, money's tight, I have 2 i3 mini-desktops and an old i7 laptop that is rarely used. Now I know I would require, for example, at least an i5 to obtain the reap the full benefit of 500Mb+ speeds. 

When testing 500Mb/1000Mb speeds via a computer based device the results are dependent on the capability of the device and the premises environment.
In addition to the standard guidance provided in the ‘Before You Start?’ section you need to ensure that the customers device meets the following minimum specification:

1. Processor should be above or equivalent to Intel® Core™ i5-4570S Processor (4 cores, 3.80 max Turbo frequency, 2.90GHz processor frequency, 6MB smart cache)
  2. Ensure that at least 4 GB of RAM is free
  3. 1 GB NIC card is recommended
  4. Ethernet cable should have the capability to transfer 1GB data
  5. Operating System - Windows 8 and above
  6. Minimum browsers supported - Google Chrome Version86, CX's Internet Explorer 11 as well as Microsoft Edge 2020 browsers version9 (2018 IE is not compatible)
  7. Please ensure you are using the latest browser version for optimum results.