cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 12

Using a TP-Link Archer C7 AC1750 with my smart hub 2

Hi, I recently bought a TP link archer C7 AC1750 to try and overcome some of the horrendous bufferbloat through the BT smart hub 2. When testing here I consistently receive an F for bufferbloat and a Quality score of F or D. On the recommendation of a friend I had intended to install this new router with OpenWrt and FQ-CoDel. However I cannot get the router to work with my BT internet. I had naively assumed it would simply be plug and play (I am very much a novice here), but I cannot get a connection that way. 

I have also tried disabling the wifi radios on the hub and linking the two, also to no avail. Do I simply need to buy a BT modem, or is there a more elegant solution? Will the modem actually work? I've also tried following a number of methods on this forum including this one .

Although detailed I found the above guide extremely hard to follow (I am lost in the sea of acronyms for a start), I am also missing some of the sections he edits.  Any help is hugely appreciated. The constant ping spikes caused by this are driving me mad and I thought I may finally have come to a solution with this new router, but it is currently sitting idle.  

0 Ratings
11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12

Re: Using a TP-Link Archer C7 AC1750 with my smart hub 2

You would've been better advised to get something like this and do away with the hub. TP-LINK Archer VR2100 WiFi Modem Router - AC 2100

0 Ratings
Message 3 of 12

That is two times the price of the router I bought and not particularly helpful in hindsight. Do i need a modem as well? 

0 Ratings
Message 4 of 12

Yes you need a separate modem and forget hub

If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings 'Thumbs up' on left hand side.