cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 20

download speed is poor , upload speed still good.

Go to solution

Hi,

Before I start I am not very tech savvy and avoid messing with settings etc if at all possible.

BT are  supposed to be sending out an engineer to take a look but I would be grateful for any advise on questions I should ask and what tests should be done.

I have a smart hub 2 with fibre to the box which is by my front gate. I have a guaranteed download speed of 30mbps which I have been consistently receiving until recently. My download speed is now never above 3mbps although upload is the same as it was at about 7.5mbps. The problem is with both wired and wifi connection and there is only one desktop (wired) and one TV wifi which is in a spare room and rarely used.

BT have taken a look their end and confirm the very low download speed but say they were unable to rectify it from their end hence the engineer visit.

I've unplugged everything and reconnected and changed the filter on the telephone box.

At the end of May a neighbour had BT installed and Openreach dug a trench in front of my driveway and obviously had to open up the box in the ground to make the connection. All this was done in the pouring rain and ramps were put over the trench for us to drive over as they did not return to complete the job for a couple of days.

I didn't notice a drop in speed at the point the work was being done but I'm wondering whether somehow rain has penetrated to a connection there and caused a problem later? I asked if the engineer would be looking at the box outside and was told no only inside, can they tell remotely there is no problem with the connection outside? I don't see how they can.

Also the neighbours broadband wasn't activated straight away, could the activation of the neighbours broadband have an effect on my broadband? BT complaints department says not.