Reply
Sage
john46
Posts: 41,605
Registered: ‎21-06-2010
0

Re: BT Infinity and https connection issues

Hi

I am sorry to see you are having problems


I suggest you contact the forum mods they may  be able to get this problem sorted for you this is a link to them http://bt.custhelp.com/app/contact_email/c/4951


They normally reply by email or phone directly to you within 3 working days they will take personal ownership of your problem until resolved and will keep you informed of progress


They are a UK based BT specialist team who have a good record at getting problems solved


This is a customer to customer self help forum the only BT presence here are the forum moderators

If you want to say thanks for a helpful answer,please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side If the reply answers your question then please mark as ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
Contributor
quigger
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎12-03-2011
0

Re: BT Infinity and https connection issues

Hi John,

I'm the original thread starter from nearly 2 years ago - I still experience the same issues - although to be honest I've given up and accepted it's part of the BT service.

Is that contact form a good solution? Should we all respond quoting this thread?

I've been through BT forms, BTCare and phone support but never get a 100% solution. The staff have always been helpful but it seems to be sporadic issue and fixes don't seem to be permanent.

My biggest bug bear is that when I have problems I can switch from BT Infinty to my EE (Orange) mobile dongle with same laptop and eradicate the issue.

Cheers,
Jason.
Beginner
RitchieRich
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-01-2013
0

Re: BT Infinity and https connection issues

[ Edited ]

I have the same problem, across multiple machines and it only started when we moved to BT Broadband 5 months ago (like another poster, I live in SW England - between Bath and Swindon). It is infuriating. While ordinary browsing and streaming is much better than I had become used to, connections to any secured sites is unreliable, unpredictable and is as likely to break as it is to work. It is the most bizarre behaviour; usually it breaks immediately after a succefull login and then the next page is unavailable (you dont get an http error or a site-specific error - this is the browser saying that the site it was trying to access is no longer accessible). Long conversation with BT go nowhere; all my machines fail in a similar way - that includes an iMac, Windows (Vista, 7 and now 8), xbox (to xbox live), and now my rather splendid Windows RT Surface tabet. All browsers have been tried (Chrome, Firefox, IE 8-10, Opera). It is not down to any of my client machinery - it is a problem with BT's network or my home hub; although I note a previous respondant said that swapping the HomeHub for his/her own router did not solve the problem. It is infuriating and I want to leave my contract - but my hands are tied; is there anything I can do? BT's engineers, while individually can be praised for at least trying, are not taking collective responsibility. I spent another hour yesterday trying to get to the bottom of this, and quite frankly, I get the "this is nothing to do with us" response because it sounds slightly bizarre that somewhere upstream https traffic is getting damaged - but THEY ARE WRONG -100%. This is happening. I won't bore readers with technical details, but the outcome of my last conversation yesterday was that it was the fault of Amazon/xbox live/hsbc for having too slow network hops to their servers - BUT THIS IS WRONG because the real-world use of their sites through http is outstandingly fast - it only goes wrong when a member of my family or myself have to securely authenticate to a service - that is the problem. It affects everything from online banking, to signing into Amazon to xbox live signing in - it's all the same. Yesterday, I completed my Amazon purchase by disconnecting my laptop from my home broadband and connecting instead to an ad-hoc wi-fi point I set up on my telephone - it was slow and used my telephones slightly more expensive 3G connections but at least I could complete the purchase. Please BT - listen to what people are saying here. There is a reason why when you Google "bt https" you get a list of problems, but when you Google "02 https" or "virgin htpps" you do not. It is because there is something wrong that needs to be looked at. Would someone please respond; or at least give me a break and let me get out of this cursed contract.

Moderator
CraigS
Posts: 3,049
Registered: ‎28-01-2010
0

Re: BT Infinity and https connection issues

Hi everyone,

 

I am really sorry that you are still having trouble with this.  Could you run a traceroute to the sites that you are having problems with please and drop me in an email?

 

We can have a closer look and see what's going wrong.

 

Use the 'contact us' form in my forum profile under the 'about me' section. You can find it by clicking on my username.

Thx

Craig

BTCare Community Mod

If we have asked you to email us with your details, please make sure you are logged in to the forum, otherwise you will not be able to see our ‘Contact Us’ link within our profiles.

We are sorry but we are unable to deal with service/account queries via the private message(PM) function so please don't PM your account info, we need to deal with this via our email account :-)”
td-p/30">Ratings star on the left-hand side of the post.

If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
5x5
Newbie
5x5
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎15-01-2013
0

Re: BT Infinity and https connection issues

Sadly I also have the same problem with BT infinity in Bath. Connection works ok except for https. Rebooting the VDSL modem resolves the issue for a few days.

Contributor
quigger
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎12-03-2011
0

Re: BT Infinity and https connection issues

[ Edited ]

Hi Craig,

You asked:
"Could you run a traceroute to the sites that you are having problems with please and drop me in an email?"

Forgive my ignorance but how can I do a https traceroute?

https domains don't seem to run under a tracert command on DOS.

Do you have another method?
Or does the http part not matter?

Guru
sjtp
Posts: 2,603
Registered: ‎21-06-2012
0

Re: BT Infinity and https connection issues

You must leave out the http or https part.  For example 'tracert bbc.co.uk'

Contributor
quigger
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎12-03-2011
0

Re: BT Infinity and https connection issues

"You must leave out the http or https part. For example 'tracert bbc.co.uk'"

Yes, I've found that issue but does it still "test" the https specific issue IF the https part is not present??

e.g.
say the BBC had

http://www.bbc.co.uk
and
https://www.bbc.co.uk

and you tracert www.bbc.co.uk that surely isn't checking https path?

This thread is about https pages only?

Or am I confused?
Expert
ray_dorset
Posts: 2,341
Registered: ‎01-01-2013
0

Re: BT Infinity and https connection issues

No you are right. Windows uses UDP packets and doesn't allow you to specify a port. If you use a TCP traceroute you can specify a port, such as http://tracetcp.sourceforge.net/

Contributor
roycruse
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎20-11-2012
0

Re: BT Infinity and https connection issues

Just wanted to add my name to the list of people experiencing this - i am having all the same issues of timeouts to https sites mainly paypal and ebuyer etc.

 

Im in Cornwall connected to the Fraddon Exchange and cant believe this issue has been around for over 2 years and still no fix from BT...