Beginner
Toffeemrd

Netgear D6200 - Will It Work With Infinity?!

[ Edited ]

Hi all,

I am a novice when it comes to buying routers, so I'm after some advice. I have a BT Home Hub 4 which came with the promise of a better ranger and being more stable. Whilst speeds are still similar to my HH3 (60-65MB d/l, 10-15mb u/l), the range and stability have decreased. Many devices are dropping off (laptop and iPhone) and only a reset of the HH4 fixes it. 

I have passed the point of wanting any more assistance from BT and won't be buying their rumoured HH5, so am looking at the Netgear D6200 

My question is - will it work with the white BT openreach modem and BT Infinity?

I think it will, but its a lot of £'s when I am not 100% (clueless in other words)!

Cheers for the help and advice!

Sage
john46

Re: Netgear D6200 - Will It Work With Infinity?!

have you tried downloading inssider then run the programme to locate a clear wireless channel the select it on the HH4
If you want to say thanks for a helpful answer,please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side If the reply answers your question then please mark as ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
MMR
Contributor
MMR

Hi Toffeemrd,

Please note the D6200 is an ADSL2+ modem router. FTTC would not make use of the modem as it would not be compatible with FTTC. Altough you can still use the devide as a router only. My suggestion for you and to save some cash is to get either the R6200 or the R6300 router. I use the R6300 and can confirm it does work wonderfully on FTTC.

In my house with the HH3 tested in all the various frequencies  I could not get a good signal on the upstairs and would often lose the connection on my ipad. With the R6300 It is always full connection. So I would recommend the router.

Hope this help you.

Beginner
Toffeemrd

Hi john46,

I haven't run this programme before, will give it a go this evening. I have selected different channels on my HH4, to no avail.

Beginner
Toffeemrd

Hi MMR,