Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Guru
Posts: 4,350
Registered: ‎02-03-2011
0

Re: Openreach/BT Infinity Modem/Router Box Alternatives

No worries I now know of one so I've learned something. Smiley Wink

Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-10-2011
0

Re: Openreach/BT Infinity Modem/Router Box Alternatives

There's a newer Draytek on the way,  ETA end October...

http://www.draytek.co.uk/products/vigor2850.html

 

 

Beginner
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-10-2011
0

Re: Openreach/BT Infinity Modem/Router Box Alternatives

So has no body had any experience with any of the other boxes I have listed?

Engineer comes tomorrow! Woop!
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-10-2011
0

Re: Openreach/BT Infinity Modem/Router Box Alternatives

Good luck tomorrow with your install, temma2k2. Did you decide yet which router or modem/router to go for yet?

 

One thing which you may like to do immediately you're online, and for the next few days, is check the online usage monitor, and compare it with what the HH3 is reporting.

 

I've just been spending a few minutes reading through this illuminating thread, and someone there suggested may be an initial incorrect amount of usage registered to new users' accounts.

http://community.bt.com/t5/BT-Infinity/BT-Infinity-Data-Usage-Wrong/td-p/117773

 

Be interested to hear how you get on, as I'm considering jumping ship from my existing ISP to BT, but having a few reservations at the moment...

 

 

 

Guru
Posts: 4,350
Registered: ‎02-03-2011
0

Re: Openreach/BT Infinity Modem/Router Box Alternatives

Depends if he's getting Option 1 or Option 2. If 2 the it doesn't matter what the usage monitor says.

Beginner
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-10-2011
0

Re: Openreach/BT Infinity Modem/Router Box Alternatives

Sorry guys I'm getting option 2 so won't really matter. I can still prob check though!
Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎02-07-2012
0

Re: Openreach/BT Infinity Modem/Router Box Alternatives

Just dropped by to say a ZyXEL P-870HW-51a v2 has just come my way. Long story so no details.

 

Short story - Anyone know does this box o'tricks even connect to BT infinity?

Distinguished Guru
Posts: 7,708
Registered: ‎01-01-2013
0

Re: Openreach/BT Infinity Modem/Router Box Alternatives

The settings you need are VLAN 101 and a pppoe connection with username bthomehub@btbroadband.com and password BT

I got those from postings here and http://www.draytek.co.uk/support/kb/kb_vigor_v2750_setup.html
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
If you found this post helpful, please click on the star on the left
If not, I'll try again Smiley Happy
Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎02-07-2012
0

Re: Openreach/BT Infinity Modem/Router Box Alternatives

Woman Very HappyBrill Thanks for that Ray.

 

I've got a lead to the phone jack and a Cat5e RJ45 Does it need a filter?

Distinguished Guru
Posts: 7,708
Registered: ‎01-01-2013
0

Re: Openreach/BT Infinity Modem/Router Box Alternatives

The phone and phone type devices need a filter, but the broadband modem does not need a filter.
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
If you found this post helpful, please click on the star on the left
If not, I'll try again Smiley Happy