Reply
Contributor
dodger
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎27-02-2011
0

Port Forward help using BT Infinity & HH3

This is my first post as a newbie to BT Infinity Broadband, so be gentle with me.

 

I have signed up for BT Infinity which was connected and installed on Friday 25/2/2011

I'm trying to port forward to an internal webserver that I have setup.
Using the website "What's my IP Address", it reports my IP address as 81.151.114.xxx
On the Home Hub 3 i have setup a new rule to point TCP port 8080 to my internal PC 172.16.xxx.xxx.

In the IE8 address bar i type http://81.151.114.xxx:8080 but i get an error "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage"

I can view the webpages from a local laptop by typing in the address bar http://172.16.xxx.xxx:8080.

 

Can anyone help to solve this.

 

Many thanks.

MrP
Aspiring Expert
MrP
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎17-02-2011
0

Re: Port Forward help using BT Infinity & HH3

I thought I'd read somewhere (on these forums) about the issue of trying to access your network via your external IP address when you are currently within your local network? I'm sure the solution was fairly straight forward, but I can't just find it at the mo.

Sage
Keith_Beddoe
Posts: 23,046
Registered: ‎27-01-2010
0

Re: Port Forward help using BT Infinity & HH3

[ Edited ]

Does this page tell you the port is open? http://www.canyouseeme.org/

 

Also have you allowed the port through your own Windows firewall?

There are some useful help pages here, for BT Broadband customers only, on my personal website.

BT Broadband customers - help with broadband, WiFi, networking, e-mail and phones.

Contributor
dodger
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎27-02-2011
0

Re: Port Forward help using BT Infinity & HH3

Yes the port is open

 

Success: I can see your service on 81.151.114.xxx on port (8080)
Your ISP is not blocking port 8080

Sage
Keith_Beddoe
Posts: 23,046
Registered: ‎27-01-2010

Re: Port Forward help using BT Infinity & HH3

You could try using a different web like Firefox, just in case Internet Explorer is misbehaving, as it often does.

Otherwise you will have to ask someone outside of your network to test it for you. If you cannot find anyone, then I can help if you wish to send me a PM.
There are some useful help pages here, for BT Broadband customers only, on my personal website.

BT Broadband customers - help with broadband, WiFi, networking, e-mail and phones.

Contributor
dodger
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎27-02-2011
0

Re: Port Forward help using BT Infinity & HH3

SUCCESS, just tried it from a PC outside of my network and the webserver works a treat :smileyvery-happy: thank you Keith.

 

I will mark as solved once a solution can be found to the question below

 

@MrP

[quote]I thought I'd read somewhere (on these forums) about the issue of trying to access your network via your external IP address when you are currently within your local network? I'm sure the solution was fairly straight forward, but I can't just find it at the mo.[/quote]

 

I interested in this solution if anyone can assist.

 

Many thanks

Contributor
dodger
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎27-02-2011
0

Re: Port Forward help using BT Infinity & HH3

After searching the internet into this problem I believe I have found a website which details a problem with the BT home hub 3 (can't comment on the HH 1 or 2 as I have never owned one).

 

Basically the HH does not allow NAT redirections which causes this problem more information in the link below

 

http://www.dyndns.com/support/kb/loopback_connections.html

 

How can we initiate a firmware update be installed to allow this loopback traffic, can a Moderator help?

Aspiring Contributor
Philk
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎27-02-2011
0

Re: Port Forward help using BT Infinity & HH3

Could the above solution also be linked to the problem I am having (see link below)?

 

 

http://community.bt.com/t5/BB-in-Home/HH3-stops-Windows-Remote-Assistance-amp-Remote-Access-to-Home/...

Aspiring Expert
MooJuice
Posts: 109
Registered: ‎10-02-2010
0

Re: Port Forward help using BT Infinity & HH3

Stab in the dark: did you try disabling extended UPnP security?

Contributor
dodger
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎27-02-2011
0

Re: Port Forward help using BT Infinity & HH3


MooJuice wrote:

Stab in the dark: did you try disabling extended UPnP security?


Not sure who that question was for, so i disabled it anyway but still no access from the internal network