cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 7

Excessive data useage

Hello,

I am new to BT Mobile.

My previous provider had 2GB Data Allowance a month, I never used more than a quarter of this throughout the Contract.

I now have a BT Mobile with a monthly 6GB Data Allowance and have used nearly 2GB in a week - what is not  set up right before I use all my Data Allowance?

Thank you, John

0 Ratings
6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7

Re: Excessive data useage

Hi @johnrimm are you using Wi-fi or all mobile data?

Stew

0 Ratings
Message 3 of 7

Hello Stew,

Thank you for your prompt response.

I have my Mobile set up with the wifi through my BT router.

My mobile data was switched on, although I thought it would default to the wifi router and only pick up mobile data when I was out...

As  precaution I have turned mobile data off for now - I think something is taking all data through mobile...🤷🏻‍♂️

CEE18DAC-C98E-42CA-87B8-60DFFC9E15A0.jpeg

0 Ratings
Message 4 of 7

If it's Android you might get some clues at Settings > Network & Internet > Data usage > App data usage, or similar, which should show which apps have recently used data and how much each has swallowed.

--
You can click the thumbs up icon below this message if you think it was helpful.
Message 5 of 7

Thank you, yes it showed the apps OK, just does not match the usage - I think I have been running on mobile data when I thought I was connected via the router.
This is my first android after about 15 years of iPhone and the settings are different.
Thank you for your time.👍😊
0 Ratings
Message 6 of 7

It's also relevant that the Android default is to prioritise wifi over mobile data, so you shouldn't have the problem at home if you keep both (and your router!) switched on. 

--
You can click the thumbs up icon below this message if you think it was helpful.
0 Ratings
Message 7 of 7