cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dandanthesushiman
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 40

Buffering and Stuttering on Macs viewing BT Sport

For the past few months I have been unable to watch BT Sport on my Mac without the picture going from sharp to pixelatted and stuttering and buffering. I have BT Infinity so I get decent download speed. I have had  issues with the connection and I had a visit from an engineer a few days ago, he felt that my router should be updated so I am awaiting the arrival of a new one. Meanwhile I have continued to troubleshoot and look in the forums as well as contacting BT asking for help. I work in Tech so I have done a fair bit of testing, including ethernet vs wifi, re-booting the computer, making sure that no body else in the house is using anything internet related and making sure that all the settings in my browsers are as recommended by BT.

When connected to Ethernet I am getting downloads of around 50mg which should be plenty quick enough to get a good picture. Netflix, iPlayer and You tube are all fine. The only problem is BT Sport. One frustration is it used to be fine, it seems to have only developed these issues in the past few months. Last night while trying to see the Madrid v PSG game I tried it on the Mac the regular viewer was stuttering and the enhanced viewer even worse. I then veiwed the same content on my iPad (over wifi) using the App and it was fine. I downloaded some software onto my mac that enabled me to Airplay the ipad onto the imac and this was fine. This has led me to think that the issue is actually with the viewing of the content via a browser on the mac rather than the connection/router/network. I have tried both chrome which I believe uses Flash and Safari which uses HTML 5 but neither deliver a smooth sharp picture.

I will continue to test but wanted to throw out a few questions to users