Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Contributor
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎09-08-2012
0

BT Vision box "rebooting"

Late evening (around midnight) my bt box has set about doing what looks like a "soft" re-boot while I was watching a box set over the last 3 nights.  Just before this happens I get a message across the bottom of the screen telling me the bb signal is lost then restored.  Shortly afterwards the reboot/upgrade thing starts.

 

Is there some sort of upgrade rolling out currently ?

 

The box works normally after the 3-4 mins it takes to load itself up again

 

Anybody having this/know what it is ?

 

D*ck

Moderator
Posts: 3,205
Registered: ‎18-07-2013
0

Re: BT Vision box "rebooting"

Hi dcdick,

 

Sorry for the problems you're having.  Is this still an issue?  If so, let me know and I'll give you steps to get in touch with us from here.

 

All the best,

 

Robbie

BTCare Community Mod

If we have asked you to email us with your details, please make sure you are logged in to the forum, otherwise you will not be able to see our ‘Contact Us’ link within our profiles.

We are sorry that we are unable to deal with service/account queries via the private message(PM) function so please don't PM your account info, we need to deal with this via our email account :-)

If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎26-10-2013
0

Re: BT Vision box "rebooting"

We had one of the silver BT Vision boxes, which was replaced by a newer black one. The newer one repeatedly reboots. I called the helpline and the software was remotely re-installed. This had the advantage of reducing the number of rebooting episodes but we lost all our stored programmes and record settings. Rebooting was a rarity with the silver box, it is still happening about 3 times a week even after the software re-install. Suggestions welcome.

Guru
Posts: 4,596
Registered: ‎27-01-2010
0

Re: BT Vision box "rebooting"

Change to the YouView box, that's what I did
________________________________________
If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, click the white star.
1967 Plus Radio
BT Life
Kafka's World
1000 Classical Hits
Contributor
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎09-08-2012
0

Re: BT Vision box "rebooting"

Thanks for the reply Stuart

 

Not sure what advantages Youview box brings over the BT + box..............thought there were issues with BT Sport with Youview ?

 

I'm now considering upgrade to infinity (got go-ahead email the other day) :smileyhappy:

 

Is Youview the best box to have for infinity ?

 

My current box is software version 8.3 dated september 

 

Current tv setup is working through mains ethernet boxes (standard BT suplied) with almost no instances of pixellation/drop out, wireless download speed in room with tv is consistent 9mb

 

Cheers

 

D*ck

Contributor
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎09-08-2012
0

Re: BT Vision box "rebooting"

Robbie wrote

 

Sorry for the problems you're having.  Is this still an issue?  If so, let me know and I'll give you steps to get in touch with us from here.

 

All the best,

 

Robbie

BTCare Community Mod

 

Not a big issue at moment as no recordings/settings are affected, been clear for 3 days now...........if It persists I'll ask for some assistance

 

Cheers

 

D*ck

Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎26-10-2013
0

Re: BT Vision box "rebooting"

[ Edited ]

Can you explain how I get a Youview box - and also explain how or why this would reduce the number of system crashes and whether or not the above mentioned problems with BT Sport are substantiated?

 

Thanks