cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jjhk
Message 11 of 22

Re: Scam call "from BT"

I also have had at least 3 calls in 2 days (couple of silent calls, call centre type background noise). First the usual someone accessed your line between 2-4 o'clock. Second says I want to terminate my internet acct ( number 0011883709532). Third claimed to be from BT Openreach the access thing again. Told them I am an IT professional and not to ring again.

All callers have thick Indian accents and line is poor.

For what Its worth I am convinced that they know your age (otherwise why ring during the working day) and that they are targetting those over retirement age as they believe them to be more gullible.

Message 12 of 22

Re: Scam call from BT

I had a call from BT Openreach.  He said he'd discovered my router speed was less than it should be and wanted to walk me through fixing it.  The got me to do a speedtest.net - my speeds were fine but he said they weren't and they could increase them.  He got me to go to the windows event viewer and said the errors there were being sent to their router.  This was incorrect information so I now was very suspicious.  He then tried to get me to run Teamviewer which would have enabled him to take over  my PC and basically do anything.  I told him he was not BT because BT would never ask me to run Teamviewer and then said he could prove he was by typing something which did not prove anything.  Eventually he hung up.  

Beware of this scam once taking over your PC he could do anything.

Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 13 of 22

What did he type and how could you see it. Was it viewable on your computer?

philip16
Message 14 of 22