cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
akaj
Message 1 of 5

BT Sport and Sky Sports with Multiroom, what are my options?

Hello,

I'm a newbie so please be gentle.

At the moment I subscribe to Sky (tv and broadband) and have 3 multiroom boxes.

I also pay Sky for BT Sport which is only available on my main TV in the lounge.

I would like BT Sport and Sky Sports available on at least 2 boxes for the forthcoming new football season.

I think I've exhausted all the possibilities in my mind and I would like some advice on how others think I may achieve this sticking to one service provider.

I am prepared to move to BT for everything if necessary.

Thanks in advance.

Tony

0 Ratings
4 REPLIES 4
jeff_tower
Contributor
Message 2 of 5

Re: BT Sport and Sky Sports with Multiroom, what are my options?

Don't move to BT, I have not long since had a thread on this forum about this very topic.

I have 2 BT Youview boxes and I wanted to add Skysports for the Ashes, you CANNOT have Skysports if you have 2 boxes. You can have it if you have only one box but not two, which is ridiculous, my only option was to cancel the second box. Also, I don't think you can have more than 2 boxes with BT, but I could be wrong on that. 

There is a workaround though, you need a mate who has Sky who will let you have their Sky login info, then use this to open Skygo and register your computer/laptop as a device (careful, because they are only allowed to add 1 device a month I think), then connect from your computer to your TV with an HDMI cable. This is a bit risky and a pain but works.

I am moving house soon and going to give Virgin Media a go for the first time. I am renting at the moment while our house is being built and the owner of the property I am renting would not allow a Sky dish on the house so I gave BT a go. I have always had Sky in the past but on the new house Virgin are giving me 3 free months of everything.