Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Beginner
Message 1 of 9

FAO Mods/Experts - IT pro in trouble!

Go to solution

(IT/telephony technician by trade; won't claim to know it all, or anywhere near, but I do troubleshoot/diagnose/resolve for a living)

Recently moved to a property with existing line; for some reason, it took 11 days to make the switch but was happy to wait. Flat is above my wife's pub, so wanted to be sure that no business-critical lines were touched in any way (as they were during the previous move - got in trouble for that one...!) - otherwise it's just the one NTE5 master socket, one ADSL filter and one homehub4, nice n' simple.

It's now been over a month, and I still have no service.

(To clarify: homeHub4 consistently displays 'no connection'error - solid orange power light and flashing red broadband light - regardless of attempted fix; plugging known working phone directly into test port produces no dial tone. Probable dead line from minimal diagnostics.)

On phone and/or livechat to support daily for nearly two weeks now. Same procedural checks each time (hub power-cycling, hub reset, test port, we'll send new h- oh we've already sent you new hubs? Power-cycle/reset those, try another known working ADSL filter, try another known working RJ11 cable, etc.) followed by the dreaded twenty-minute generic "line checks" (between exchange and property, I assume).