has anyone else had a “free” broadband update message when logging into their account as per my photo below.
I’ve followed it through the next screens - it claims it’s quick and easy to do, free for the same price, they’ll send out a smart hub (I currently just have a home hub) and it also acknowledges that my contract still runs in June 2019. I’ve stopped at the confirm order point as it seems too good to be true and worried I’ll inadvertently enter into a new contract.
I tried to chat and call BT but it’s like banging my head against a brick wall as I had googled this and I found an article where it does say it was something BT were rolling out free speed updates over a period of time.
So just wondering if anyone has actually gone through with this?
Read the Terms and Conditions, you will be entering into a new contract.
The "free" speed upgrade happened a while back and did not require you to do anything and you certainly did not get a new Smarthub.
What speeds do you get at present as many have expected faster speed only to be disappointed
you could try 0800800030 and see what they offer you. You don't need to accept
Yes I have this free update offer too but have stopped at the confirm stage in case its a con. I dont want any increase in my monthly payments nor an extention to my existing contract which runs out in Feb 19. It would be nice to know if someone has took up the offer or confirmation from someone in BT to say there is no catch.
As @gg30340 posted already you really need to read the T&C to see as I suspect it will be a new contract. I would wait especially if renewal is 19/2
CPI increases are now built into contract so no longer can cancel free when cost goes up
It does say this:
'Your free update summary
You’ll receive more stable and reliable broadband, as well as faster speeds. We’ll send you a new Smart Hub to support your improved broadband connection. As with your current package, you’ll have an out of contract price, if you come out of contract your monthly cost will be £52.40'
So does it mean the price stays the same unless I cancell the contract?
That reads to me that you will be in a new contract which will be for the price that you are paying just now but when the contract is over you will be charged £52.40 but as has repeatedly been said, you need to read the full Terms and Conditions about the "free broadband upgrade".
I also would not necessarily believe the first part "You’ll receive more stable and reliable broadband, as well as faster speeds".
Thanks for your reply. Where do you find the T& C's they are hidden somwhere. I'm with you on the last bit in my experience I would'nt believe anything BT says Iv'e been caught before ( 'caveate emptor'). It would be nice to know though from someone who has taken it up.
I don't have access to the offer so I can not direct you to the T & Cs but the should be somewhere on the web pages, may be a link or named "the legal stuff".