Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
xmarksthespot
Contributor
Message 1 of 11

Advice please on anti-virus software, including BT Virus Protect

I am looking for advice on a suitable virus protection product to instrall. I am a current BT Infinity 1 customer so I have the option to get BT Virus Protect for free, but have not downloaded as yet, and am wondering if I should. 

In our household we have two laptops (one Windows 7 64-bit, the other running Windows 10) plus a couple of iPlhones. I have a current subscription with McAfee for their 'Total Protection' product.

This subscription expires next month, but is going up to something like £50 (and that's with a 'discount' allegedly).  To be honest I'm not really sure as to exactly what it provides, and I am probably one of many who purchase/renew such products based on the 'fear factor' of being 'infected'. I have previously had anti-virus cover with Norton. Anti-virus products are all 'black boxes' to me!

The questions I have are:

1. What virus protection should I install when my current McAfee subscription runs out? What is the general consensus in terms of a 'good' anti-virus product? (and why). What should I be looking for? (feel free to ask me more questions to draw out my needs). I know there are free offerings (such as Avast) and it seems to get good feedback from the little I've read. Feedback on McAfee says it is often seen as resource hungry. And, I  also hate the uneccessary 'offers' and pop-ups from McAfee that appear unprompted on my machine as renewal approaches.

2. Should I download BT Virus Protect - now? or ever? I understand the free version covers me for 2 devices. If I download now, and given I understand that BT Virus Protect is from the McAfee stable, will it a) conflict with Total Protection? b) will it add value?