cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
alister
Message 1 of 6

BT Cloud Not fit for purpose (Backup)

Hi,

I've used computer backup since 5.25" drives and then through ArcServe, BackupExec, etc. no I'm no novice here.

I've just found BURIED in the WEB section - under versions

It's important to be aware that backing up a very large file that you modify often could use up your BT Cloud storage space very quickly. This is because each time you modify it a new version is saved. We strongly recommend that you don’t use BT Cloud to back up large system files that are frequently modified, such as Outlook Data Files.

WTF? Sorry you're backing up a PC and you put NOTHING in the PC help? This is wrong.

I was backing up 30GB of photos/data and BT cloud is telling me I've used 97GB of my 100GB? So I went digging.

The version feature is nice but there is no way to turn it off or restrict it (to say 5). And deleting versions is a one-by-one affair with confirmation. That's 100's of mouse clicks. There isn't a bulk option.

There's no way to tell how many versions a file actually has without clicking on every file - then you have the hassle of deleteing the versions.

A few simple tweaks and this could be a great product, it looks like someone decided that it "was good enough" except for me it wasn't

0 Ratings
5 REPLIES 5
BT Cloud Expert
BT Cloud Expert
Message 2 of 6

Re: BT Cloud Not fit for purpose (Backup)

Hi @alister,

Sorry to hear of your bad experiance with BT Cloud. Giving users more control over how 'versions' work is on our product roadmap. We're making minor improvements to 'versioning' in our next release (should be a couple of months away), and will provide much more control in our first release of 2018.

Our developers are still hard at work on getting these features right so I don't have any more detail to share yet, but BT will post on these forums when we do have more information for you.

Thanks,

Joe

BT Cloud ExpertJoeV