cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 131 of 1,226

BT Cloud 20.6.1

After a day of seeing 'syncing' and no sign of anything being uploaded or having appeared on the website version I've a 'sinking' feeling this is another example of BT Cloud's tried and tested approach of not testing enough.

0 Ratings
Message 132 of 1,226

Re: BT Cloud Won't Start

Apologies - v long post

Caveat 1 : Windows experience only

Caveat 2 : I’m no expert in BT software and have no insider knowledge

Caveat 3 : 2+2 = um... 4 or 5 or -1 or a red herring so don’t get too hung up if I’m wrong

Caveat 4 : It seems that the mechanism of accessing the Dashboad via the desktop App has changed for 20.1.6 and is now via the cloud icon in the “hidden icons” section. You may not like this but if it worked then you’d just have to live with it. Dashboard like features appear to be available via the cloud screen “Open Preference” option though as I fail before this is enabled I cannot verify this. I probably won’t like it either when I can but ...

So keeping the above caveats in mind could this be what is happening

1. In general for most people, once past the Windows Defender hiccup, the installation did not report any direct errors. It got rid of the old version if any and copied over the new files and kicked off an initial process. Any errors only came when you tried to use it.

2. For some people all seems to have worked (supported as such by a statement from the BT Mod and various contributors reports from their contact with the Helpdesk) - the lucky few/many (your choice)