cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Guru
Message 11 of 26

Re: BT Cloud fhoster32.exe using all my spare CPU

As you know from other threads, there are lots of issues with BT Cloud, including this one.

I'm not quite sure why it wasn't put through a proper product test before launch.

They are gradually fixing things; for example they have considerably improved the slow upload of lots of small files.

However, with such a huge list of serious problems it might take quite a time; especially if they decide to do some testing before roll-out this time.  Meanwhile, I suggest that nobody uses BT Cloud for serious backup.

0 Ratings
Highlighted
rockmc
Aspiring Contributor
Message 12 of 26

I'm new to BT Cloud and am experiencing the same problem:  an entire core lost to fshoster32.exe all the time.

I called BT today to complain and was told that it must be an issue with my PC and I "should get it checked".  I stressed that the issue was theirs and the call centre person went away for a while before stating that they had many thousands of successful installations and had not had similar issues reported.  Finally, I insisted they escalate so they've given me a call reference and I'll chase up in a few days.  I don't hold much hope.

The one positive was that the BT Cloud support phone number I used - 0800 5003114 - was answered immediately.

It would be good if others experiencing this problem started reporting it via 0800 5003114 so that BT begin to recognise that it's not an isolated incident.

0 Ratings
sirisaac
Message 13 of 26

On a closely related issue I found that fhoster32.exe is effectively incompatible with with Outlook in that it takes so long to back up any changes to pst files that Outlook opens another (conflict) file. fhoster32.exe then grabs that one and by the end of the day there are many copies and Outlook still complains it can't access the files to display them.