cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
fred_worcester
Beginner
Message 1 of 10

Cannot connect to Wi Fi Hotspots

Hi, I'm new to BT Infinity, not totally techical, but not a total novice either.  

My problem is I can't easily connect to BT wi fi hotspots.  I have Infinity 2, with a home hib 5, and I'm using an iPhone 6. Here's what happens;

- if I locate a wi fi hotspot when I'm away from home, I can only log into it with the web page method, where I enter my email address and password.  That works fine.  But only for that hotspot.  What doesn't work, is the BT wi fi app which should connect me automatically to hot spots when I'm out and about.  But mine doesn't connevct like that.

- With the app on my phone, I can't log into any hot spot at all.  If I go into my Settings instead, and select the hot spot from the list of available networks, I get the spinning Apple wheel, then the wi fi hotspot becomes selected with the Apple tick, but within a second or two, the tick disappears, and the previously-selected hotspot drops back down into the list of available hotspots.  At no point using this method, do I get the wi fi symbol at the top of my screen.

- If I try instead to connect using the App, it won't let me, and tells me that the wi fi symbol needs to be visible at the top of my screen, which as I say, doesn't happen at all during the ticking/unticking process described above.

Technical help last night advised me to uninstall the app, "forget" my own home network, and then log onto a hotspot again using the webpage login method.  Once that was done, I was online, and able to download the app again.  But the success was very temporary.

But the problem comes when I leave that hotspot and want to connect at another, and I can't, so the whole process has to start over again.