cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Richard_Nash
Beginner
Message 1 of 10

Firewall preventing printer wifi connection?

Go to solution

Hi - I'm new to BT Virus Protect (had BT broadband for a long time before discovering free McAfee) and have a macbook pro connected wirelessly to my BT Hub along with an Epson printer.

All has been fine until a couple of days ago, when I discovered that BT Virus Protect had never been running, so I uninstalled and reinstalled as per online advice, and all seemed well, until I discovered that my printer said it was "no longer connected to wifi".

Could this be because I switched on the firewall facility of BT Virus Protect?  Would invoking this be expected to block wifi access to printers?  Seem a little odd, since surely most customers would have this kind of setup.  I did try tweaking the settings by entering the printer's IP address in the list of allowed devices, but I'm alarmed at all the settings and not sure what I am doing.

Thanks

Richard

0 Ratings
9 REPLIES 9
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 10

Re: Firewall preventing printer wifi connection?

Go to solution

have you tried reinstalling the printer

If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings 'Thumbs up' on left hand side.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 3 of 10

Go to solution

Firewalls operate between WAN and LAN, not within the LAN.

0 Ratings
Richard_Nash
Beginner
Message 4 of 10

Go to solution