Message 31 of 44

Re: Norton disappearing after installation

Go to solution
hello, Im having the same problem.
0 Ratings
Message 32 of 44

Go to solution

So after lodging a complaint, a guy from BT actually called me today. 
And as expected , he said there's nothing they can do , call NORTON and speak to them. 
He confirmed that this was a 3rd party product provided by them ,  but they did not provide support for it and that they could not fix.

As ever ( and not his fault), this is BT missing the point. They are paying Norton to provide a service to their customers. So why BT cannot contact Norton on behalf of its customers, to find out how to fix this remains a mystery to me. 

But that is not an option. 

0 Ratings
Message 33 of 44

Go to solution

Not accepting responsibility is, unfortunately, standard practice for most/all IT service providers. I used to work in IT and none of the companies involved would accept it was their fault without irrefutable proof.

That said BT advertise their broadband products as including online security i.e. Norton so it's their responsibility to sort  it out not the customer's. If you buy a new car and some 3rd party bit of it doesn't work they don't tell you to talk to whoever made it they do it.

0 Ratings
Message 34 of 44

Go to solution
Just had a look at the small print on BT's fibre deals and it has the line 'BT Virus Protect works on compatible PC/MACs' but as most/all new PCs will be Windows 11 that probably wouldn't stand up to scrutiny.
0 Ratings
Message 35 of 44

Go to solution

If they get enough OFFICIAL complaints (through their published complaints process) it may trigger an internal escalation.