cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Oz1978
Beginner
Message 1 of 7

Sudden problems connecting to BtWifi and BTOpenzone hotspots

I have a BT account and when round a friends house I usually log on to 2 bt hotspots (1 BTWiFi, 1 BtOpenzone-B). I've been connecting just fine to both for a couple of years now with hardly any issues at all, until recently when they both stopped providing a connection to the internet, I've tried connecting using my Ipad and Iphone (both using BTWifi app and not) and my friends PC but with no luck. All devices pick up a good strong signal and receive an IP address starting 10.*** just as they did before but get only limited connection. There is a BT-Wifi with Fon signal that I can connect to but its a very week signal and so intermittent and can only find it using the PC.

Is there anyone who can shed some light on this, I'm far from an expert but I'd have expected to get an IP address starting 169.*** if there was a problem with the hotspots internet connection, or does the 10.*** address just mean I'm connected to their router.

0 Ratings
6 REPLIES 6
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 7

Re: Sudden problems connecting to BtWifi and BTOpenzone hotspots

An ip address starting with 10 is what I would expect when connecting to btwifi

If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings 'Thumbs up' on left hand side.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 3 of 7

The 169 range is a local address that Windows uses if it cannot get a valid IP address. This results in a "limited" or "local" access message.

0 Ratings
Oz1978
Beginner
Message 4 of 7