Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-05-2013
0

Can i connect to xbox live using my bt open zone wifi spot?

i know i will have to bridge the connection with a ethernet cable from my xbox to my laptop but i just cant seem to connect to xbox when i do this.. i have done so many different things and i just wanted to know if it is possible or not so i can put my mind to rest.

I was hoping to be able to use my xbox online through my bt wifi openzone spot. any help anyone please?

a step by step solution would be great please. thank you.

Roger.

Distinguished Sage
Posts: 30,651
Registered: ‎27-01-2010

Re: Can i connect to xbox live using my bt open zone wifi spot?

Unless the Xbox has a web browser where you can login to BT Wifi, then you are not going to be able to establish an Internet connection.

If you enable Internet sharing on your laptop, then you may be able to connect the Xbox using a cable, but you will still have to login to BT wifi on the laptop, and you will get disconnected every two hours.

 

Much easier to use your main BT home hub SSID, or an Ethernet cable.

 

Distinguished Sage
Posts: 19,426
Registered: ‎10-12-2012

Re: Can i connect to xbox live using my bt open zone wifi spot?

See this link on how to connect your xbox through your computer.

 

http://support.xbox.com/en-GB/xbox-live/connecting/win-computer

 

As Keith has said you will then need to log onto to BTWifi.

 

The connection might not be fast enough for gaming though.

Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎19-08-2014
0

Re: Can i connect to xbox live using my bt open zone wifi spot?

[ Edited ]

I know this is an old thread, but yes it can be done.

 

I posted a video on youtube showing the steps involved. Some technical knowledge is needed, using a virtualization solution such as Virtualbox, VMWare Player (free), or similar.

 

http://youtu.be/QKP07Cks22E?list=UU5A0LCZ4HuWPR8ATBc-5jaw 

 

Because the BT browser login is required to enable internet use, this means that Xbox consoles have no way of authenticating.  There is a setting in Xbox that allows you to 'take over' the identity of another device that has already logged in to BT Wifi Openzone.  The below steps outline a method that makes use of this information.

 

  • Start a virtual machine that has a web browser
  • navigate to btopenzone.com
  • Login (be sure to select whether you are a Fon customer)
  • Note the MAC Address of your virtual machine (Virtual Box steps below)
  •      Right-click the network icon of the virtual machine
  •      Choose Network Settings
  •      Note the MAC Address
  •      Turn off the virtual machine
  • Start your Xbox, and go to Settings
  • Go to Network Configuration
  • Connect to the BT Wifi Fon Openzone network
  • Go in to the network configuration
  • navigate over to the Additional Settings
  • press down, then A to open the Advanced Settings
  • Enter the MAC Address you noted, and press Done
  • After 1 or 2 tries, you should now be able to connect to Xbox Live through the BT Wifi Openzone
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-03-2015
0

Re: Can i connect to xbox live using my bt open zone wifi spot?

I have tried all these steps. But my xbox says a have a mtu problem and wont load fifa. I had a strange method what got my mtu working. I connected to hotspot and changed the mac to the mac of my andriod device. Then i connected to my partners mobile hotspot and reset the mac.. i reconnected to the bthotspot and it allowed me to play fifa with 100% connection.. no delays or lag. Can anybody tell me why this happened and why wont it let me do it again?
Beginner
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎31-01-2016
0

Re: Can i connect to xbox live using my bt open zone wifi spot?

To connect to bt wifi with fon through xbox one do this.connect your iphone to btwifi with fon then try to connect xbox one to bt wifi with fon,it wont connect but now all you have to do is go to advanced settings on xbox one and type in the ip address manually.to get your settings for this go back to your iphone and next to bt wifi with fon you will see an i for info.when you press this it will give you IP address subnet gateway and all the things you need to type in on your xbox one.once all put in it will work and works very well as well .