Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
PeteInclusion
Beginner
Message 1 of 13

Cant send or receive emails

Hi,

I am unable to send or receive emails on my Outlook a/c all I got was an error message. The e-mail address is correct as is user name and password as I am able to access my btinternet.com emails via webmail. I have also disabled my secuirty software but still nothing. 

I took my laptop to my very helpful local computer shop they tried my a/c on their machines but it were still not able to access it, so clearly it is not a problem with my laptop. Therefore it must be something to do with BT. 

I am a small business owner and so this is really really bad news for me. Can someone please help? I tried calling BT but that was no help whatsoever. Thanks !

0 Ratings
12 REPLIES 12
edwardblack
Contributor
Message 2 of 13

Re: Cant send or receive emails

There are a number of threads on this topic. This is one

https://community.bt.com/t5/Email/Unable-to-log-onto-server-using-outlook-but-same-username-and/td-p...

Generally the problem "just clears" after a few hours or a day or so. See my post here for example and for another discussion of the topic

https://community.bt.com/t5/Email/Presently-in-US-and-unable-to-read-mail-on-IOS-devices-imap/m-p/18...

0 Ratings
PeteInclusion
Beginner
Message 3 of 13

Hi Edward,
Thanks for your response.
Unfortunately for the first link I get a 'An invalid set of parameters has been specified in the url'.
0 Ratings
edwardblack
Contributor
Message 4 of 13

0 Ratings
PeteInclusion
Beginner
Message 5 of 13

Hi Edward, as suggested in the second thread above, I also tried removing my email account, now I cant even reinstall it as a new a/c in Outlook, gggrrrrr. Any other ideas please ?
0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 6 of 13

As a business user, I'm surprised you use a consumer grade email system with no guarantee of service. You would be better served with a business account with a proper SLA