I had set up a second email address a while ago. Today, I went to delete it. There was no Delete ooption showing (my primary email address had that option).
To test, I set up a new email address and tested it - all worked as expected, sending and receiving emails.
I then went back to Manage Email and the new test address had the Delete option (so too did my primary email address), still not on the one I want to delete.
I deleted the new test address, no problem.
Question is: why does the troublesome address not offer a Delete option? How can I delete it - is there some other way?
Solved! Go to Solution.
Thanks for bringing this to my attention. I'm sorry that the option isn't there.
Can you post a screenshot of what you see when you're on the manage mail page? Make sure you blank out your email addresses before you post it.
Well, got the call. I have been informed that once an email address has been deleted, and after the 'recovery' time, then that email address will remain as a dead address and will 'NEVER EVER in the life of the universe' be removed from the list (callers words).
This means that any time you create a new email address, then that 'slot' is forever 'used', and even after deletion will never become available again.
In effect, this means that a user could end up with all their available slots (11 in my case) being used up and no more email addresses can be added, nor reused.
A user could have 1 email address in use (primary) and the others all dead.
In my opinion, this BT policy is out and out crazy! Why on earth do they not just remove a deleted email address once the recovery time has expired?
As a side effect of all of this is that I went though the process of creating a test address just so I could delete it - to check what was happening - so that is another dead address NEVER EVER to become available to me in the life of the universe!
Luckily, I doubt that I will need many, if any, of my remaining 8 slots - but that doesn't excuse the BT crazy policy.
You have been told a load of rubbish. Once deleted your number of used email addresses should decrease by one. There have been some users reporting that that has not happened. Moderators became involved and the problem was resolved.
In light of the replies, I will hopefully get a responce (again) from a moderator.
Here is a view of MyBT - Manage Email
EDIT: just got your post Paddy (while composing this one)