cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Beginner
Message 1 of 6

Disposable emails scheduled to stop April 2020?

Go to solution

I recently got an email from BT saying that after April 2020 I would stop receiving email sent to my disposable email addresses (blahblah-*****@yahoo.co.uk). It isn't a phish, it references www.bt.com/dea-closure

I've been using these 'disposable' addresses for almost 20 years. I have a lot of digital rights & web accounts using these details. I've got about 10 disposables that I've been using consistently across hundreds of sites and services.

I can of course download all my old email, yes it's a pain - but that's not my main problem.

What I am far more worried about is not having any way after April to get delivery of new mail to those addresses - i.e. when I find a website / online service / historic purchase and it says "send password reset link", I'm stuffed.

I managed to get a callback from "the highest level of BT email technical support" (they weren't UK based), and I was told that they "weren't really going to turn off disposable addresses - you can just ignore that warning". Which seemed like a load of rubbish and just a way to get me off the phone.

questions:

1. Am I right? Basically after April if I find anything in the last 20 years I've not changed the email address on, I'm stuffed - no password reset emails!