cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Amj
Beginner
Message 1 of 10

E mail hell

So now I am affected by the constant need to reset e mail passwords, daily, sometimes twice a day. I could reset successfully but after a short while it would lock me out. This happens on outlook, outlook express, iPad, iPhone, imap, pop accounts.

i am now at a stage whereby I can not access any client e mail accounts, the only thing that works is webmail, clearly there has been some password synchronisation issues on the e mail servers. But chat support is next to useless, I am an it professional and know how to set up imap and pop e mail accounts and secure e mail clients.

why do bt seem unable to acknowledge there is a issue here server side.

i am now at the point where I have no option but to move my broadband and phone accounts to another provider.

grrrrrrrrrr

0 Ratings
9 REPLIES 9
Distinguished Guru
Message 2 of 10

Re: E mail hell

Hi, welcome to the forums.

Why are you changing the password?

There is no need to, even if the system says it can't recognise username/password - it's not a password issue. Sometimes changing it can kick the system into working, but it can cause all sorts of extra problems sometime - sync with BTID, not to mention having to alter all the other devices, some in more than one place.

If you have all these devices continually polling for access, then it's likely that some form of account lockout could occur if one of them can't access the account, even once - then others keep trying. If you do have this scenario, increase the time between checks on every device, or make it a manual check.

Also, if you do alter password - make sure all the devices are set NOT to poll the servers, since you need to wait at least 15 minutes after a password change to check apps/clients.