cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 11 of 15

Re: Have BT blocked sending of email from other domains?

I am by no means an expert in this field @jac_95 has more knowledge. I have set my SPF record to v=spf1 ip4:65.20.0.0/24 include:_spf.mail.yahoo.com include:_spf.perfora.net on my domain with 1&1. I am not sure about DKIM requirements at all.

There is a syntax checker here

0 Ratings
GSB1
Contributor
Message 12 of 15

Thanks for the example.

I am testing the SPF record on a spare domain I have that I am not dependant on the email address of (but has the same symptom at present), and will update the thread on how that goes.

There are a number of checkers and syntax generators online to help.

In the mean time, now we are just over 34 hours since I really noticed an issue, I am getting message delayed notifications (the example below was with gmail configured to send as my domain using my BT smtp credentials):

Delivery to the following recipient has been delayed:

<email removed>

Message will be retried for 1 more day(s)

Technical details of temporary failure:

Google tried to deliver your message, but it was rejected by the relay mail.btinternet.com [65.20.0.43].

The error that the other server returned was:

421 Too many messages (1.3.5.2) from 209.85.223.182

Interestingly I have had these messages before recently, but oddly was not actually having any issue previously with message delivery. In some cases previosuly I would get a notification as above, long after I know the email had actually been delieverd.

0 Ratings
Highlighted
GSB1
Contributor
Message 13 of 15

Online checkers are retrieving the new SPF record for my domain, so assuming populated correctly (I am quite confident it is), this is not solving the problem (good knowledge to have picked up though).

0 Ratings
Guru
Guru
Message 14 of 15